How To Delete Friend Requests On Snapchat?

If you are a Snapchat user, then you are already familiar with this unique messaging application. The fact that the “Snaps’ (pictures or video clips) that you send to your Snapchat friends disappear from their phones within a few seconds after they open them (as well as from the Snapchat server) is what separates this application from the other messaging apps out there.

When you open the Snapchat app, you receive any notifications about pending friend requests, Snaps that your friends have sent you appear in this queue, as do any friend requests from people who want to be able to exchange Snaps with you. Knowing how to delete friend requests on Snapchat helps you keep your notifications queue clear.

When you open the app, click on that button in the lower right hand corner. If it has a number on it, that means you have that many notifications waiting for you to view them. Clicking the button brings those notifications up for you to view.

Among these notifications will be your pending friend requests from other contacts, if you have received any. For each one, choose whether or not to accept it. As soon as you finish your selection, the request will disappear. The contact’s name will appear in your Friends list now, if you chose to accept the request. If you did not, the name will not appear, but the friend request will disappear from your notifications.

You might be wondering why you would want to know how to delete friend requests on Snapchat. If you don’t delete them, they will show up again every time you log in, making the notifications queue crowded. That might keep you from seeing newer notifications that you really want to see.

You also might be wondering why you wouldn’t just accept every friend request that comes across your screen. After all, the more friends you have, the larger your stream is for sending out Snaps and Stories for everyone to view. However, not all friend requests are worthy of your consideration.

For one thing, you should not accept any friend requests from people that you do not know. Many people are using Snapchat to send inappropriate images, because they believe that the images will disappear anyway. There are a lot of spammers out there looking to use the app to send a variety of videos and pictures that you probably do not want to see, let alone have in your inbox. Even though the service promises to purge everything after the image disappears, the jury is still out on that. Androids tend to hold on to those pictures in their caches, and there is still research into whether or not Snapchat’s servers really get rid of everything.

For another thing, you are responsible for the pictures that you send, but if you receive a picture and save it in some way, whether it sticks in your phone or you take a picture of the image with another device before it disappears, you are responsible for the ownership of that picture. That’s not a big deal sometimes, but if it’s an inappropriate image of a teenager, you could be labeled a sexual offender, a problem that follows you the rest of your life.

The smartest thing is to carefully screen who you allow to be your friend on Snapchat. If you’re not sure, just refuse those friend requests and clear them out of your notifications queue.