How to delete saved messages on Snapchat


If you own a smartphone and have been on the internet in the last few years, then you’ve probably heard of Snapchat. Snapchat is a very popular mobile messaging application which enables you to send videos and pictures which self-destruct (get deleted) within a few seconds of the other person viewing them. It has a lot of cool filters which makes this app very popular among the youngsters today.

Now a very common question asked by Snapchat users is about how they can delete the saved messages. The fact is, there is no way to remove the messages if they were also saved by the other person with whom you were chatting without getting their permission, you can delete saved messages quickly if they were saved only by you.

delete saved messages on Snapchat

How to delete saved messages on Snapchat in 5 easy steps

Step 1.

Go to Snapchat’s main page: The main page of Snapchat is the first page you see when you open up the application. This page shows all the conversations that you’ve had with other users. You need to open this page up first.

Step 2.

Go to Settings: In order to open up the Settings page, you need to go to the upper-right corner of your screen right above the list of conversations. The gear shaped icon is the settings button. Click on it and open the settings tab.

Step 3.

Go to the “Clear Conversations” tab: There are some tabs on the Settings page of Snapchat. One of these is the “Account Actions” tab. You need to click on that tab after which it will display a number of options. There should be a “Clear Conversation” option which takes you to the page from where you can delete your saved conversations; select that option and continue.

Step 4.

Unlock the Saved Chat: After you select the “Clear Conversations” option, you will see the page which lists all of your chats. Every chat has an “X” beside them clicking on which will delete the conversation. Now, saved chats look a bit different from the active chats. Saved chats are highlighted meaning that they are locked and cannot be deleted. To Unlock saved conversations, you just need to tap on it, making the highlight disappear. That chat can now be removed.

Step 5.

Deleting the Chat: After unlocking the saved chat, all you need to do to remove the conversation is click on the “X” sign to the right of the chat. Once you do that, the conversation disappears, and thus you have successfully deleted the saved chat.

Conclusion

However, doing the above steps only deletes the conversation if it was only saved by you. If the other person had also saved the conversation, then the chat will be locked from their end, and you cannot delete it without their permission. In such a case, you can ask the other person to unlock the chat by following the first 4 steps after which can delete them. If they refuse to unlock, though, then there is nothing more that can be done.