Snapchat is one of the hottest trending smartphone apps available today, and for a good reason. Created by Stanford University students as a class project, the app has grown to be on the most downloaded smartphone apps. Snapchat allows users to take pictures, record videos, add text and drawings to them, and then send them to a list of recipients chosen by the user. Once the recipient views the message, the photos or the videos get automatically deleted after a user set timer limit; the timer limit ranges from 1 to 10 seconds as of now.
Thanks to this amazing privacy feature, many teenagers and couples have grown a liking for the app; it allows them to participate in private discussions without being paranoid about their photos and videos getting into the wrong hands. Currently, more than 100 million users have registered a Snapchat account, and the service handles more than 350 million snap requests every day.
If you are an avid user of the app and are wondering how to delete someone off of Snapchat, then you need to follow the steps laid down below to make sure that you get rid of them completely.
Delete the user from Snapchat’s contact list
To delete the user from your Snapchat’s contact list, you need to access the “My Friends List” area first. To access the friends list, you need to click the check-list icon on the bottom right corner in the main screen. Once you select the name you want to delete in the friends list area, you can slide your finger from left to right or press the grey gear icon beside the name. Once you do that, you will then be presented with a screen which asks you whether you want to edit the name of your friend, delete them, or block them. Choose the delete option.
Can you receive messages from friends you’ve deleted?
The simple answer is no. Once you have deleted someone from your friends list, you are no longer connected to them on Snapchat. As a result, they won’t be able to send you any photos or videos, and the same applies to you.
Do the deleted friends receive any notifications?
No, once you delete someone from your friends list on Snapchat, they won’t be notified about it. They might suspect the sudden stoppage of messages from your side, but if they are not paying any attention, then they won’t even notice it.
What if someone deleted you from Snapchat?
The same applies to you as said above. If someone deletes you from Snapchat, then you won’t be notified about it, and neither will you be able to contact them on Snapchat anymore. However, if you have their contact number, then you can still contact them directly via phone call or messaging.
What if you want to delete someone temporarily?
If you are annoyed about the messages sent by some users in your Snapchat friends list, but you don’t want to delete them, then you can block them instead. They will still be able to send you messages, except all the messages will be sent to the bottom of your friends list under the red heading “Blocked.” You can unblock blocked friends any time you want to.