How to turn off Snapchat Memories


We know how Snapchat saves some of your highlight videos and pictures for a while, but did you know that you can potentially save those “memories” into Snapchat’s archive for later? The new update includes a feature called Moments, kind of a back-up for your media on your Snapchat account. But what if you didn’t want the new update? Here’s how to turn off Snapchat Memories:

turn off Snapchat Memories

Let’s say you didn’t want anyone accessing your private photos and videos. Can you not update to the latest version of Snapchat and still use the app without the Memories? The short answer is yes. Snapchat users won’t have to worry about being forced to download the update, then forced to save their pictures and videos to Memories if they don’t want to. There’s a choice that allows you to continue using the same Snapchat features you love without adapting to the new changes.

Before going to the part where you turn off Snapchat Memories, remember that the basic premise of Snapchat hasn’t changed with the new feature rolling out. All your snaps will still be timed, and you can still use Snapchat without ever activating the Memories feature. The Memories is simply an improvement for those who don’t have the time to manually back up their Stories or Snaps for later sharing. Memories are tied to Snapchat accounts and are backed up to cloud, so you can access it anytime with an internet connection, no matter what device you’re using.

Maybe you don’t like the idea of saving to the cloud, where it can potentially be hacked and exposed to the general public. Maybe you’d like to use Snapchat as is without Memories. Keep in mind that Memories isn’t automatically turned on when you update the app, but if you’ve turned on the Memories by updating to the latest version and saying “yes” to saving to the cloud, then there’s still a way to turn it off. Here’s what you can do:

Step 1. Open the Snapchat app and go to the main interface. You should be able to see a new icon below the camera icon. When you swipe it upwards, the Memories feature comes up.

Step 2. The Memories will show a series of tabs for browsing different Stories and Snaps, and your Camera Roll. There’s a setting called “For My Eyes Only” when you browse from within. You will need to create a password to protect it from prying eyes.

Step 3. If you wish to not use the Memories feature, then you simply can ignore the “Save to Memories” option. Don’t enable the option to save your Snaps or Stories to Memories, and instead have the images save to your Camera Roll Only (which is your device). Access these options anytime by swiping upwards on the “Save” button.

Step 4. If you wish to finally try out the new Memories feature and have it saved up for a longer time, then go to your Snapchat settings and tap on “Save to Memories“. At anytime you wish to turn off this feature, do the same thing and instead tap on “Save to Camera Roll Only”.


Loading...